One Youth’s Literary Greatness

There is nothing so deceptive and for all that so alluring as a good surface. The sea, when beheld in the warm sunlight of a summer’s day; the sky, blue in the faint and amber glimmer of an Autumn sun, are pleasing to the eye: but, how different the scene, when the wild anger of the elements has waked again the discord of Confusion, how different the ocean, choking with froth & foam, to the calm, placid sea, that glanced and rippled merrily in the sun.

This was written by a teenage James Joyce. His great biographer, Richard Ellman, writes:

The example may give heart to adolescents who are searching their own works for evidence of literary immortality, and not finding much.

I didn’t quote the essay in its entirety because my eyes were glazing over before I finished it, but regardless, if a 14 year-old could write like that today, few people, I think, would hesitate to proclaim her a genius. But Ellman seems to be implying that such writing was commonplace for children living in the English-speaking world at the turn of the 20th century; I’ve always wondered how different my early life would have been if I’d spent it with books instead of televisions and computers. I do know for sure that 14 year-old James Joyce had more talent in his pinky fingernail than the grownup author of these words has in his entire corporeal frame…

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “One Youth’s Literary Greatness

  1. Madge says:

    If you are going for most excellent contents like me, simply pay a visit this website daily because it gives feature contents, thanks

  2. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog soon
    but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to
    ask!

  3. Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give
    a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums
    that cover the same topics? Thanks a lot!

  4. Turn a small investment into a large amount of money!
    You can join for $1.75 and turn that into thousands.
    Anyone can do it, easy and the risk is so low less than $2 you can’t go wrong.

  5. DVD to Mp4 says:

    Wow,youtube mp3 converter article,it’s so helpful to me,and your blog is very good,I’ve learned a lot from your blog here,Keep on going,my friend,I will keep an eye on it,One more thing,thanks for your post!welcome to dvd to mp4 converter .

Leave a Reply

